Multilingual Interface

The Gong system supports different sets of languages to be used as the major language of the user interface in the client program. At the moment there are five sets of languages for the user to select from. They are the following:

  • American English
  • British English ¹

    American English

  • Traditional Chinese (繁體中文)

    Traditional Chinese

  • Simplified Chinese (简体中文)

    Simplified Chinese

  • Japanese (日本語)


The system administrator can select the default choice of language used by the system. Nevertheless a user can still change their language preference by changing their settings inside the Gong program. There are three ways where the Gong interface language can be changed:

  1. Changing the settings in the user details

    Changing User Settings
    Selecting the System Language

  2. Modifying the gong.ini file in the application when running Gong as an application; for example the following is the content of the gong.ini which sets the language to British English
    # The system language.
    # It selects the language to be used throughout the user interface.
    # The value is expressed as the locale string.
    # The currently available values are:
    #   en    - American English
    #   en_UK - British English
    #   ja    - Japanese
    #   zh    - Traditional Chinese
    #   zh_CN - Simplified Chinese
    # The default language is 'en'.
  3. Modifying the applet parameter when running Gong as an applet inside a web browser; for example the following is the parameter which sets the language to Japanese
    <applet name="gong" archive="gong.jar" code="gong.GongApplet">
    <param name="System.Language" value="ja" />

Method two and method three set the default Gong interface language. That means any user can still override this default settings by changing his/her user details.

¹ We only show the American English version of Gong here because there are only minor differences between American and British English.